Monday Nov 24
Satoru Suzuki vs Hiroki Shishido: Knock Out Spinning Back Fist Ruled Foul
Last Updated on Thursday, 8 November 2012 07:24
Written by Charles Jewett
Thursday, 8 November 2012 07:20


Satoru Suzuki was knocked out by Hiroki Shishido last September. Upon reviewing the video of the fight, the Shoot Boxing Commission has decided that the blow was illegal. In Shoot Boxing, and most JMMA, a spinning back fist is only legal if you are striking them with your hand. Upon reviewing the fight, the Commission decided that Hiroki hit Suzuki with part of his upper arm, thus making it an illegal blow. This is unfortunate to hear as this was the match that qualified Hiroki for this weekend’s S-Cup. Suzuki stated that his hope and  wish is that the referees could make these decisions immediately after the foul happens. Having to wait more than a month cost Suzuki a potential spot in the S-Cup.


If you look at this photo, you can see that it was the elbow that hit Suzuki in the chin.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.